Rightfully His Omega, from Angelique Voisen

Rightfully His Omega Banner 851 x 315.png

Good morning, peeps! Hope everyone is hanging there on this Monday morning! 🙂 I must warn you guys that I’m in heaven and reading gay book after gay book (you know, just in case you haven’t noticed my three gay book reviews in a row), so today’s review makes a four combo, haha! Don’t worry, though. I’ll break it myself a little later with a YA mystery review… And then I’ll be back to the gay book reviews tomorrow, lol.

Anyway, let’s talk business: Rightfully His Omega, from Angelique Voisen. I’ve received my copy from Bewitching Book Tours in exchange for an honest review and this is it! Let’s do this 🙂

rightfully his omega 1.JPG
from my Instagram 🙂

the story

Charlie is a very rare and special omega wolf. Why? He has the ability of pregnancy. Many would kill to have him and the other omegas like himself as a reproduction center, so Charlie has been sheltered for everyone until he was 14.

One fateful night, his family entrusts him to his allegedly mate, Caleb, a very tall, dark and handsome man 10 years older. Charlie is scared and fears for his life, but Caleb explains to him that he was going to make sure Charlie would be okay and grew up just fine.

Caleb swore he would come back for Charlie. He just didn’t count that it would take them 10 years until they saw each other again.

Would Charlie ever forgive him for taking so long?

the analysis

Just remembering that those were my impressions and opinion as a reader 🙂

Okay, so this book was a novella and really short. I don’t think you have to write a full book to have something wonderful – on the contrary, I usually complain about too many unneeded pages. But on Rightfully His Omega’s case, the story had so many information and was so under developed that I was seriously left wondering why Angelique had the trouble of writing it in the first place. I really liked the premise of bounded people reencountering after so long, to fix the past so they could have a future. Besides, it was my first MPREG (male pregnancy) book, I was highly anticipating seeing how this would be pulled off. To summarize, I expected nothing, as I didn’t new what to make of the book, and I was still let down. For the creativity of the plot and the one hour of entertainment it provided me, I rated it with 3 stars 🙂

The narrative was third person with switching points of view between Charlie and Caleb, but it switched without a moment’s notice and you had to stop, think, re-read some lines and then pick up your reading again. Despite being a fan of third person narratives, I didn’t really like Voisen’s writing style. It seemed too rough, as if she was writing a screenplay or something. She repeated the character’s names two to three times on the same sentence instead of using “he”, “the omega”, “the wolf” or anything like that. It was distressing, haha!

avril sighs in exasperation

The plot had so much potential, but it left me in the dark. I got a particular interest on this book because I wanted to see how could a male pregnancy work – I found this so interesting! But I feel the need of warning you guys that no explanations were given whatsoever. The book has ended and I feel like I was cheated, haha! Also, I didn’t really feel any connection between Caleb and Charlie. It was a total instalove all over. I only forgave it on this book because of the werewolves mating deal, but still, there are a lot of ways to get around and avoid instalove. It’s awful to confuse lust and desire with love. Also, I felt that there were key scenes missing, but I won’t develop it further to avoid spoilers.

I’d really like to say that the characters were well developed and memorable, that they saved the book. But I can’t 😦 I felt they all were shallow with a past that was thrown at the reader on the prologue. Caleb was just another tall dark and handsome alpha that wants to put his mate on all fours and Charlie was just another bratty submissive omega. It also bothered me how fast they decided to stick together after so many misunderstandings. Too unreal, you know? 😦

house hugh laurie resignated.gif

You must be wondering at this point what did I like on the book, right? Haha! For one, I liked that Charlie was a stripper. I just like books involving male strippers, it’s one of my things 🙂 I also really liked the action scenes – not sheets action, actual action, haha! The sheets action aren’t even worth mentioning on this case. Despite everything, I liked to think that Charlie could someday have Caleb’s pups and I found it cute.

Oh, and can we please just take a moment to appreciate how beautiful this cover is? *–*

Overall, it was an amusing one hour read and if you like werewolves and short stories, you may end up enjoying Rightfully His Omega 🙂

3star

goodreads icon

Thanks for reading my review 🙂 Bellow, you can find info on where to buy Rightfully His Omega, about the author and how to enter the lovely giveaway set for this tour 🙂

purchase links

You can find Rightfully His Omega in ebook version 🙂

ARe | Amazon

the author

Angelique Voisen is a bisexual, twenty-something, type-2 diabetic and multi-pubbed writer who favors LGBT and ménage pairings. She likes experimenting with different sub-genres and her stories may include cogs, fangs, space battles, kinky magic systems and happily-ever-afters. When Angel’s not writing, she’s gaming, watching B-rated action movies, or enjoying teatime with friends while enviously eyeing their cake.

Website | Facebook | Twitter | Pinterest

 giveaway

Three lucky winners will take home each a digital copy of Two Howls, by Sean Michel!

To enter the giveaway, just click here and good luck: GIVEAWAY!

That’s it, thanks for reading my whole post and thanks to Bewitching Book Tours for my review copy and my spot on the tour 🙂

assinatura

bewitching book tours host

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Rightfully His Omega, from Angelique Voisen

Leave a Reply

