Myths of Mish, from Katie Hamstead (Fairytale Galaxy Chronicles #2)

book-review-panda

Hiii, world! Welcome to my review for the second book in the Fairytale Galaxy Chronicles, from brilliant Katie Hamstead: Myths of Mish! I CRAZY LOVED the first book in the series, Princess of Tyrone, so I was really excited to read the next volume =D I received my copy from YA Bound Book Tours in exchange for an honest review and here we go! Thanks ❤

myths-of-mish

summary-panda-no-background

Hansel and Gretel Herrscher survived the witch in the woods, but the experience has made Hansel paranoid for the past ten years. He sees dark magic at every turn. When Gretel has a marriage arranged to a much older man, and Hansel discovers he’s about to be sent halfway across the galaxy, he knows something sinister is afoot.

Wilhelmine Nordon has plenty of experience with Hansel’s quirkier side. So when she catches him and Gretel running away in the middle of the night, she follows to keep them from getting killed. The siblings have never left the capital of Mish on their own, so they need a babysitter. Except when she’s discovered, Hansel gives her his usual cold shoulder, and Gretel secretly begs her to take them back.

The problem is, Hansel’s paranoia turns out to be well founded, and they’re all being hunted.

Me after finishing this book:

ive-got-a-war-in-my-mind

You can read here my review for Princess of Tyrone, Fairytale Galaxy Chronicles #1!

analysis-panda-no-background

Just remembering that those were my impressions and opinion as a reader =)

Myths of Mish was a non-stop rollercoaster of adventure with a unique narrative and a mind-blowing plot. Hansel and Gretel meets The Little Mermaid and they all seriously kick ass together ❤ Once again, Hamstead sucked me into her fairy-tale galaxies and I loved it – my only solid complain was Hansel’s personality shift. Don’t get me wrong, the guy was a jerk with a capital J, but I felt his change of heart was too sudden and too hard, if that makes sense? I also missed a little of the “OMG IT’S HAPPENING, OMG IT’S HAPPENING!! CALL 911!!” magic from the first book, so 4 stars AND OMG WHEN DOES THE NEXT BOOK WILL BE OUT?!

beauty-and-the-beast-please-dont-leave-me-belle

As I said, the narrative in this book is quite unique and I LOVED IT. Hamstead tells us the story from three different points of view: Hansel, Gretel and Wilhelmine, aka. Minna. The catch? Hansel and Gretel’s POV is third person styled, while Minna’s POV is FIRST PERSON. ISN’T THIS PERFECT?!!

anna kendrick boom

Seriously, I had never seem a book written like this and I squealed when I identified the pattern. Hamstead, you’re a genius. Never change. Also, her writing style is addicting – you never want to put her books down, trust me 😉

The plot, as I expected, was full of twists and turns. While Hamstead kept me pinning the whole time and make me swear a little when I found out who The Little Mermaid was, it was an amazing ride. I don’t go through that serendipity journey through most plots anymore at this point of life, with more than a thousand different books read at the age of 22, so I always save a delightful spot in my heart for all books and authors who manage to truly surprise me. Katie, come here for a hug.

tumblr_inline_mke0tjxooR1rqh8d0

If I had to use only one word to describe the characters in Myths of Mish, it would be ‘strong’. Of course you aren’t that lucky and I won’t stop at one word, haha! #evilpandastrickes My favourite along the ride was Minna. She is so not your typical YA heroine: she has poise, patience and knows exactly when to kick butt and when to keep quiet on an argument. Seriously, she was so mature in all the right ways, but still being flawed – HOW DO YOU EVEN DO THAT, HAMSTEAD?!!

On the other hand, I hated Hansel with the force. The guy had a weak case for all his jerkiness and I can’t believe how Minna didn’t kick his ass early. It’s literally too much love that stopped her, ugh.

game-of-thrones-arya-someday-im-gonna-put-a-sword-through-your-eye

But Annelise, you’re pouring your heart out in compliments and only gave the book 4 stars. What in hell went wrong?

hannah montana miley cyrus true

Yeah, there’s that. Besides my strong negative feelings towards Hansel, the lack of the special spark that the first book gives and Myths of Mish fails to deliver, there was one more factor that made me decide to definitely take off a star. It was this line:

“Hansel let out the breath he hadn’t noticed himself holding.”

MOST. OVERUSED. LINE. IN LITERATURE. IN EVER. The fact that it was used in the third person didn’t do any wonders to soothe my poor brain.

anigif_enhanced-28008-1392674511-5

Ahem. I’m controlled now. Let’s talk about quotes? I think we should. Nooothing sells the book like quotes /o/ Myths of Mish isn’t the kind of book full of funny pearls all over, but there was one dialogue that cracked me up for good. LAUGH WITH ME, CHILDREN:

Minna: You look exhausted. Did you sleep at all last night?

Hansel: *grunts*

Minna: Very articulate. If you’d like, I can take over.

Hansel: *scoffs*

Minna: Are you going to use words?

Hansel: *grunts*

Minna: Mmm. *brushes her fingers on his*

Hansel: What are you doing?

Minna: Ah! Words!

Hansel: *scowls*

cover-analysis-panda-no-background

You can read here my cover analysis for Myths of Mish! 😉

~*~

Overall, if you like fantasy, sci-fi, fairy-tale retellings and adventure, YOU MUST read this book and this series ❤

4star

panda-goodreads-icon

And that’s it! Thank you so much for reading this review and, of course, thanks again to YA Bound Book Tours for this review copy =D Bellow, you can find more info on the book and the author, plus a wonderful giveaway!

Myths of Mish tour banner NEW.jpg

Myths of Mish

by Katie Hamstead

Fairytale Galaxy Chronicles #2

Genre: YA Space Opera/Scifi/Fantasy

Release Date: March 28th, 2017

Curiosity Quills Press

purchase-links-panda-no-background

Myths of Mish is available in ebook format at Amazon =)

AMAZON

the-author-panda-no-background

Born and raised in Australia, Katie’s early years of day dreaming in the “bush”, and having her father tell her wild bedtime stories, inspired her passion for writing. After graduating High School, she became a foreign exchange student where she met a young man who several years later she married. Now she lives in Arizona with her husband, daughter and their dog. She has a diploma in travel and tourism which helps inspire her writing. When her debut novel, Kiya: Hope of the Pharaoh, climbed into bestselling status, she believed she was onto something, and now has a slew of novels now available, and is published through Curiosity Quills Press, Soul Mate Publishing, and REUTS Publishing. Katie loves to out sing her friends and family, play sports, and be a good wife and mother. She now works as an Acquisitions Editor to help support her family. She loves to write, and takes the few spare moments in her day to work on her novels.

WebsiteGoodreadsTwitterFacebook

giveaway-panda-no-background

One lucky INTERNATIONAL winner will take home ebook copies of Myths of Mish, Princess of Tyrone and Kiya: Hope of the Pharaoh, all by Katie Hamstead!

GIVEAWAY!

~*~

With love,

annelise-panda-signature-no-background

YA Bounk Tour Button

2 thoughts on “Myths of Mish, from Katie Hamstead (Fairytale Galaxy Chronicles #2)

Leave a comment