Any Boy But You, from Julie Hammerle (North Pole, Minnesota #1)

Hellooooo, world! Good Monday to you and, for a change, I do have a review up on the blog! Miracles do happen here and there, haha! ;D Today I’ll ravish talk about the first book in the North Pole, Minnesota series, from Julie Hammerle: Any Boy But You! ❤ I received this book from Chapter by Chapter in exchange for an honest review and this is the moment. Thanks so much, guys!

Any Boy But You Cover.png

summary-panda-no-background

Elena Chestnut has been chatting with an anonymous boy late into the night. It’s a very You’ve Got Mail situation, and she has no idea who he is. He can’t be Oliver Prince, hot-and-bashful son of the family running the rival sporting goods store. Their fancy sales strategies are driving Elena’s family out of business. Elena’s mystery boy has teamed up with her in their latest sales strategy, an augmented reality game, to help her win the grand-prize plane tickets. Money’s so tight Elena’s going to miss senior year spring break with her friends if she can’t win this game.

The girl Oliver’s fallen head-over-heels for online had better not be Elena Chestnut. She’s his angry, vindictive Latin tutor, the daughter of his dad’s business rival, and the one girl he’d never even think of kissing. She’s definitely not his online crush, because that girl is funny, sweet, and perfect.

When Oliver asks to reveal their names at the Valentine’s Day dance, their IRL relationship will either ruin what they have online, or they’ll discover just how thin the line between love and hate really is.

anigif_enhanced-buzz-5351-1389581734-11

Me after finishing this book:

awww

analysis-panda-no-background

Just remembering that those were my impressions and opinion as a reader 🙂

I’d like to start by saying that Entangled Teen Publishing changed my tastes for contemporary YA romance. It was a gender I used to run away like hell from and now, every time I see a new title from them, I go bouncing towards it like a puppy, haha! The get all the elements I like about a contemporary YA and the authors they have under them are amazing. Also, I’d like to make it clear that no one paid me a thing to say those things, haha! I just can’t believe how much my reading tastes branched since I started blogging and it’s a wonderful feeling ❤

crazy-happy-loving-it

Now, to the book, haha! I was head over heels with Elena and Oliver since page 1. Yup, that simple. I connected to Elena in personal way I didn’t expect to and I found myself cheering for her exactly because someday I want to change my life as well. She was an example for me in faithfulness to her family and to herself despite life happening and I want this kind of strength when facing chaos. Add to this a brilliant and witty storyline, a cute and nerd boy, awesome friends and the North Pole = 5 big and shiny stars!

miley cyrus hannah montana hugging stuffed animal

The narrative style was third person (yay! #discreet) with switching points of view between Elena and Oliver. I was in love with both of them and their feud was really funny, haha! Hammerle writing style was fluid, simple and enchanting, the kind that grasps you by the neck and forces you to read “just one more page” until the book ends right in front of your desperate-for-more eyes ❤

i want more ariel the little mermaid

The plot revolved around Elena and Oliver’s lives crushing into each other and was quite simple, despite the touch of mystery in the background. It’s nothing that assiduous mystery readers won’t guess in 5 seconds after evidence is shown, but keeps us intrigued to see if we were right, haha! Also, the pop references all over this book. OMG. I died several times thanks to the awesomeness of this *—*

tumblr_m2b01sJkRx1qzvz1ao2_500

The characters were precious. I have no other adjectives to use here, as even the sidekicks and minor ones rocked hard. Elena was everything for me as a strong and decided protagonist and Oliver was the epitome of cuteness with his computer addiction and gaming through life attitude ❤ I laughed hard with both, especially as they chatted during their games and fell for each other.

92962-I-am-so-in-love-with-you-gif-D-7Kch

cover-analysis-panda-no-background

I generally love Entangled’s covers, as they are usually young, vibrant, colorful, fresh and very connected with the book’s story. With Any Boy But You wasn’t any different and I was in love with Elena at first sight, haha! If you read the book, you’ll realize that the couple laying in the snow is just perfect in every possible way ❤ Also, these fonts make my heart go wild with pleasure?

~*~

Trying to be more objective in life in general, I’m just going to shut up and leave these quotes here to do my job and convince you that this book is the best #shameless:

“Since Elena was alone in the bathroom and therefore had no one with whom to celebrate her having upper hand, she high fived her own reflection in the mirror over the sink.”

~*~

“Channeling her mother, Elena wondered how no one had managed to injure themselves yet.”

~*~

“If she let him [Oliver] kiss her, it would not be meaningless for him. Kissing Elena would be Stash Grab plus Wizard World times a million. Kissing her would be everything.”

~*~

And this killer piece of dialogue between Elena and Oliver on their online chat:

Oliver: Ha-ha, that’s for sure the most honest I’ve ever been with anyone, and you’re just a tiny avatar on my phone.

Elena: I guess it’s easier to be honest with an avatar.

~*~

If you like YA, pop culture references, highly intelligent dialogues and main characters, JUST READ THIS BOOK. #simplelikethat

5star

panda-goodreads-icon

Thanks so much for reading! Bellow, you can find buying links for the book and more info about the author =) Once again, thanks so much to Chapter by Chapter for my review copy!

AnyBoyButYouTour.png

Any Boy but You

by Julie Hammerle

North Pole, Minnesota, #1

Publication Date: February 13th, 2017

Publisher:  Entangled: Crush

purchase-links-panda-no-background

Any Boy But You is available in both ebook and paperback formats at our favorite book sellers! I need a paperback, #justsaying

Google Play | BAM | Amazon | Indies | B&N| Kobo | TBD | iBooks

the-author-panda-no-background

Julie Hammerle is the author of The Sound of Us, which will be published by Entangled Teen on June 7, 2016. Before settling down to write “for real,” she studied opera, taught Latin, and held her real estate license for one hot minute. Currently, she writes about TV on her blog Hammervision, ropes people into conversations about Game of Thrones, and makes excuses to avoid the gym. Her favorite YA-centric TV shows include 90210 (original spice), Felicity, and Freaks and Geeks. Her iPod reads like a 1997 Lilith Fair set list.

She lives in Chicago with her husband, two kids, and a dog. They named the dog Indiana.

Website | Twitter | Facebook | Instagram | Goodreads

~*~

With love,

annelise-panda-signature-no-background

chapter by chapter

 

Leave a Reply

