Four, from Archer Kay Leah (The Republic #2)

Good afternoon, dearies! One would think that, after I got back home from a 39 days trip, my life would become more quiet and slow. I was so mistaken!! I barely had the time to sleep since my plane arrived last Saturday – that’s right, not this one, the last one of January! For all that, I’m sorry. I have underestimated my own regular life and I’ll do my best to post more personal content, reviews and memes from now on! ❤

However, enough about my royal panda self for the moment =) I’m here today to tell you all about the second book in The Republic series, from Archer Kay Leah: Four! ❤ I have received my copy from Xpresso Book Tours in exchange for an honest review and the moment is here!

Four.jpg

summary-panda-no-background

On the outside, Mayr seems to have it all: a successful career as Head of the Guard for a prominent politician, family and friends who adore him, and the attention of beautiful women. But appearances are a good way to bury secrets, including the fact that while Mayr is a romantic at heart, searching for the one person to share his life with, his lovers keep leaving him.

When his last girlfriend takes him back and suggests an intimate night with Tash, one of her lovers, Mayr reluctantly agrees. The last thing he expects is to fall hard for Tash, who is nothing like Mayr’s previous lovers—and about to undertake the Uldana Trials. If Tash fails, he’ll likely die. If he succeeds, he must give up Mayr, and become the latest to leave Mayr standing alone with a broken heart.

Me after finishing this book:

tumblr_mmjqcx7N0t1qhhr17o1_500

analysis-panda-no-background

Just remembering that those were my impressions and opinion as a reader 🙂

Let’s start with a small rant. Four is the second book in the series and I should have listened to that. Despite being mildly interested in book one, I decided book two sounded way more promising and I went straight for it. The result was A LOT of confusion on my part, regarding the world I had been tossed into and the relationship level between characters. For N reasons, I believed this was a companion series – standalones that connect each other with the barest of links, but not to the point of making a linear reading necessary. For those of you that got the same impression, don’t fall for this: The Republic is a linear series and you need to read book one to know what’s happening in book two!! Just changing the protagonists doesn’t turn a book into a standalone. #justsaying

Now that this is off our way, for the good parts: I enjoyed Four. It was a very unique book, beautifully written, with relatable and sexy characters. However, the world building could have used more attention and detail, especially in the beginning of the book. Even if I had read the first book in the series, it’s always good to remind the reader where we are, as we usually read a ton of books in the breaks of waiting for the next volume of the series. Also, the pace was so slow! I suffer from reader’s anxiety: when the book starts to get nowhere after a X number of pages/chapters (varies from a book to another), I get impatient, grumpy and desperate for relevant events on the story. It sucks hard, because then you can’t enjoy all the little good things along the plot and it was precisely the case with Four =(

I’m a sucker for gay romance, tattooed guys and informal romantic relationships that get out of hands on my books, so Four made it to three stars: an enjoyable ride that had tons of potential to be the best of my life and it wasn’t.

boo you whore regina george mean girls

The narrative is third person from Mayr’s point of view and, while this is my favorite style, I found it hard to connect with Mayr and be sympathetic to his causes. Unfortunately, there were too many personality incoherencies and gaps for me to truly see him as a real person inside the pages. A quick and simple example of what I mean: Mayr has a depressive and serious personality, thanks to many events of his life, which is totally okay. The problem is that, at the same time, the author wanted us to see him as outgoing and funny on the outside: sometimes, during dialogues, I felt like Mayr was watching someone else talking to the people next to him, because the gap wasn’t only too great between his outside self and his true self, it was also unjustified through the book.

i expect nothing and i'm still let down

The plot was truly great! I loved how a one-night-stand between Mayr and Tash evolved to so much more with both men trying very hard to avoid it, so I found myself chuckling alone in many occasions when they admitted they were stalking each other and still denied their feelings ❤ It was sooo cute!! *–* Also, the twists in the back story were fun to watch!

the-big-bang-theory-sheldon-oh-goodie-happy

I already ended up talking a little about the characters, so I’ll just wrap this part with compliments, haha! OMG, Tash is handsome! I kept picturing a rogue biker in priest clothing, to be honest, and OMG!!!!

britney spears hot hot hot

My only wish for this book was for more believable character interactions, as there were many times in which I blinked twice in face of the events I was witnessing. The story got so romanced that bordered a bad side of cheesy and it totally didn’t need to be! I mean, seriously, look at that blurb! THE POTENTIAL, PEOPLE!!!

One thing that truly got my attention was the way that Leah wrote the sex scenes. I don’t know how, but the author managed to mix explicit and non-explicit content in them, so you know exactly what is happening and, yet, the reader is left to imagine on their own about the details. It was an ingenious technique that I admired heavily ❤ I still prefer my sex scenes explicit and vulgarity-free, but this worked too?

jennifer aniston rachel friends thinking nodding

cover-analysis-panda-no-background

I LOVED THIS COVER ❤ It’s the kind that gets more perfect when you read the book – the feathers scattered, the blue lonely background, the font and shadows used to compose the title and the white in the author name and series title IS JUST PERFECTION! Seriously, I’d die for a paperback of this volume on my shelves, haha!

vanessa hudgens fangirling

Overall, if you like fantasy, gay books, sexy guys and a heart-warming romance, Four is the book for you ;D Considering that you’ll be a good reader and read book one first, of course!

3star

panda-goodreads-icon

~*~

Thanks so much for reading! Bellow, you can find more information about the book, the series, the author, purchase links and an awesome giveaway!

FourTourBanner-1.png

Four

by Archer Kay Leah

The Republic #2

Publication date: September 7th, 2016

Genres: Adult, Fantasy, Romance

purchase-links-panda-no-background

You can find Four in both ebook and paperback editions! =)

Amazon | B&N |iBooks | Kobo

the-author-panda-no-background

Archer Kay Leah was raised in Canada, growing up in a port town at a time when it was starting to become more diverse, both visibly and vocally. Combined with the variety of interests found in Archer’s family and the never-ending need to be creative, this diversity inspired a love for toying with characters and their relationships, exploring new experiences and difficult situations.

Archer most enjoys writing speculative fiction and is engaged in a very particular love affair with fantasy, especially when it is dark and emotionally charged. When not reading and writing for work or play, Archer is a geek with too many hobbies and keeps busy with other creative endeavors, a music addiction, and whatever else comes along. Archer lives in London, Ontario with a same-sex partner and their cat.

Website | Goodreads profile | Facebook | Twitter

giveaway-panda-no-background

There will be FOUR [haha] LUCKY INTERNATIONAL winners on this amazing giveaway!

Winners #1 and #2 will take home each a $10 Amazon Gift Card!

Winners #3 and #4 will take home each a $5 Amazon Gift Card!

GIVEAWAY!

~*~

With love,

annelise-panda-signature-no-background

xpresso book tours

*click on the Xpresso Book Tours banner to read other reviews for this book!*

2 thoughts on “Four, from Archer Kay Leah (The Republic #2)

    • Hi, Archer! Hahaha, I’m so glad you liked my definition of Tash! Hahaha =D He was so hot in so many ways, it was difficult to explain without resorcing to metaphors ;DD
      It was my pleasure to have read your book and to be a part of the tour!! Congrats on a delightful novel *–* ❤ Thanks for stopping by, it was very sweet of you!!

      Like

Leave a Reply

