The Reluctant Sacrifice, from Kerr-Ann Dempster (The Aramithians, #1)

Hello, hello! Aren’t weekends the most divine thing in the existence? Despite doing all my chores, I can blog, read and watch Netflix as much as my heart desires – and did I mention my 13 hours of sleep? Hahaha! Seriously, I could totally go back to permanent weekends schedule ❤

Anyway, time to reveal The Reluctant Sacrifice, the first in The Aramithians series, by Kerr-Ann Dempster! I received my review copy from Kerr-Ann herself in exchange for an honest review. Thanks so much! The moment arrived 🙂

the reluctant sacrifice

summary

Centuries ago, sibling rivalry tore Aramith apart. As punishment, the losers were stripped of their immortal birthright and banished to Earth. There, they wasted away from old age and diseases. However, there is hope…

If a Shaw child, born on the 12th day of the 12th month offers her soul in a public sacrifice, then the exiles will be forgiven and welcomed home to Aramith.

Aubrey Shaw is that child, but dying for the exiles is not on her to-do list. Using her gift as a Jumper, Aubrey leaps between bodies to escape relentless shape-shifting hunters. Only, shedding her skin is not enough. Not when Joshua, her best-friend-turned-hunter, is hell-bent on dragging her to the altar.

Will Aubrey’s love for Joshua change his mind?

Or, will she have to trust the scarred stranger who shows up out of the blue cloaked in lies and secrets? Doing so means giving up on Joshua. But betting on Joshua’s love could do more than break her heart.

It could kill her.

the analysis

Just remembering that those were my impressions and opinion as a reader 🙂

The Reluctant Sacrifice started off a little slow for me and for three or four chapters I was seriously afraid that I wouldn’t like it. Thank Goddess the pace picked up after that and I found myself totally immersed on the book and desperate to know how it would end, haha! I loved the final twist and my body positively shivered with how the book ended ❤ I only took off a star because that beginning was a bummer, so four stars!

The narrative was first person styled from Aubrey’s point of view. She was an okay protagonist for me, I didn’t have any strong feelings towards her, for good or bad. While not hating the narrator really helps me to engage with the book, not liking her isn’t exactly ideal, as I couldn’t bring myself to care about Aubrey’s destiny through the book. As a person that loves to make new bookish friends in each page, I was a bit sad with myself, but oh well. Also, Dempster’s writing is very refreshing, simple and luring at the same time. You need to know what happens next, who will do what when and how. That is extremely satisfactory, haha!

katy perry happy satisfied

The plot is complex and full of surprises – did I mention the big twist?! I totally didn’t see it coming and it was great, haha! It had me biting my nails to know if things would be all right and I even tear up a bit on the bus as I metaphorically closed my ebook. Despite this being the start of a series, I felt like there was a pretty good closure to the book, so I’m genuinely curious to see what comes after 🙂

The characters were one of the highest points of the book – right next to the supernatural aspect of it, but we will get there. Aubrey is very aware of her surroundings and people around her, something born from her survival routine. This is awesome for us readers, as each character has more personality than the other: Aubrey notices the little things that make them real, that make all of us real. That is magic, haha! Unfortunately none of the boys impressed me enough to be ranked in my bookish boyfriends list, but I assure you they are cool and hot 🙂

Also, Dempster really deserves a high-five for the Jumping bodies deal. That was wicked awesome and I had never heard of it. Like, ever! So original and cool! *–*

i demand the highest of fives supernatural sam winchester

I wish I could jump bodies sometimes too, creepiness and all… Like, when I can’t make it to the train wagon because it’s too full and have to wait for the next train with several people pushing me around. I could simply jump into the body of someone that has gotten in there, haha!

help me im poor

Overall, if you like fantasy, Young Adult, awesome twists and a badass super power, you need to add The Reluctant Sacrifice to your TBR!

4star

goodreads icon

Thanks so much for reading my review! Boy, it feels good to write a decent review for a change! Also, thanks again to Kerr-Ann for trusting me with her book ❤

Love you all and hope everyone is having an awesome weekend!

assinatura

3 thoughts on “The Reluctant Sacrifice, from Kerr-Ann Dempster (The Aramithians, #1)

Leave a Reply

