BLOG TOUR: In the Shadow of the Dragon King, by J. Keller Ford

InTheShadowTour

Hi, there! Good morning and welcome to another blog tour with a special guest! But all in due time 😉 We’ll be talking about In The Shadow of the Dragon King, by J. Keller Ford – the star of this Chapter by Chapter tour!

InTheShadowCover

In the Shadow of the Dragon King

by J. Keller Ford

Release Date: May 31th, 2016

Publisher: Month9Books

summary

Seventeen-year-old, Eric, is a kick-butt squire to the most revered knight in Fallhollow. Well he would be if Sir Trogsdill allowed him to do anything even remotely awesome. Determined to prove his worth, Eric sets out to find the mythical paladin summoned to protect the realm from the evil lurking nearby.

Sixteen-year-old, David, spends his days collecting school honors, winning archery tournaments, and trying not to fall in love with his scrappy best friend, Charlotte.

Right when things start to get interesting, he is whisked away to the magical realm of Fallhollow where everyone thinks he’s some sort of paladin destined to fulfill a two-hundred-year-old prophecy. He’s supposed to help kill a dragon with some sort of magic key. The same key that happens to adorn the neck of an annoying squire who’s too wrapped up in proving himself to be much help to anyone.

With egos as big as the dragon they need to destroy, Eric and David must get over themselves, or watch everything they know and love, burn.

goodreads iconpurchase links

You can find In The Shadow of the Dragon King in both paperback and ebook formats 🙂

Google Play | BAM | Chapters | Amazon | B&N | Kobo | TBD | iBooks

be our guest post

YES, WE HAVE JENNY HERE WITH IS TODAY!!!

applause

And just guess- Annelise, dear, we know you asked her to tell us 5 interesting facts about her lovely book and that’s very unoriginal of you.

hannah montana miley cyrus true

But I love learning about the backstage of books and Jenny indulged me on her own way, so I’m happy! Thanks, Jenny! And now I’ll let her talk about In the Shadow of the Dragon King’s backstage!

What a great topic, Annelise. Since I have addressed the 5 interesting facts (in some fashion)about my book  in other posts, I’ll take on 5 interesting facts about the book writing progress.

 1) I never, ever write without chocolate at my fingertips. I prefer Lindor truffles but any sort of chocolate will do. The brain doesn’t function without chocolate.

 2) I always re-write the beginning of my novel at least 5 times before I am happy with it. Sometimes it ends up changing the entire novel. Thus is why I need more chocolate.

 3) Writing the middle of the book is always the hardest for me. That’s when I start thinking my writing should find its way into a garbage can and be set afire. It’s the point in a novel where I begin questioning why I’m even writing. Thankfully, I have a 21-year-old son who is a dragon and fantasy nut like me to bounce ideas off of. Having that in-person sounding board is priceless. Scary because our brains are equally twisted, but priceless just the same.

 4) I hate plotting my stories. I know how I want things to start, I have an idea as to the progression and I know how I want the story to end, but the journey to get there is part of the writer quest. I like the not knowing. I like to be surprised by my characters. Some of the best passages I’ve written have come from some weird place in my mind that I had no idea even existed. It’s pretty cool, actually. I reward myself with chocolate. 

 5) Writing in a bad/sad mood is a no no. My brain refuses to utter one word if I’m in a funk. I used to think that if I wrote while I was upset or sad, then I could write some incredible passages about my characters when they felt the same way. Not. So, I go for a walk or a bike ride. The fresh air clears the mind, the soul, the spirit. If the blues hit me at night, I wander off into a video game, or mindless t.v. until the funk passes. Then I eat more chocolate and put my fingers to the keyboard. It is the way of things for this quirky fantasy author.

And there you have it. Five interesting facts about the writing process. Now have some chocolate.  What do you prefer? Dark or milk?  

Thank you for having me Annelise. It was fun.

I LOVE CHOCOLATE, my favorite is with milk! Other flavors that I love include mint, strawberries, hazelnuts, coconuts and white chocolate ❤ Yup, I love chocolate, haha! Thanks so much for taking the time to be here today!! I loved your facts 😀

the author

J. Keller Ford

J. Keller Ford (known to all as Jenny) is a scribbler of Young Adult and New Adult speculative fiction. As a young Army brat, she traveled the world and wandered the halls of some of Germany’s most extraordinary castles in hopes of finding snarky dragons, chivalrous knights and wondrous magic that permeated her imagination. What she found remains etched in her topsy-turvy mind and oozes out in sweeping tales of courage, sacrifice, honor and everlasting love.

When not torturing her keyboard or trying to silence the voices in her head, Jenny spends time collecting seashells, bowling, swimming, screaming on roller coasters and traveling. Jenny is a mom to four magnificent and noble offspring, and currently lives in paradise on the west coast of Florida with a quirky knight who was silly enough to marry her, and a menagerie of royal pets. Published works include short stories, The Amulet of Ormisez, Dragon Flight, and The Passing of Millie Hudson. IN THE SHADOW OF THE DRAGON KING is her debut novel and the first installment in the Chronicles of Fallhollow Trilogy.

Website | Twitter | Facebook | InstagramPinterest |Goodreads

giveaway

There will be six winners in this giveaway!

  • One lovely US RESIDENT winner will take home a scrabble tile book cover charm;
  • Five lovely INTERNATIONAL will take home each a digital copy of In the Shadow of the Dragon King!

No matter which prize you aim for, if you’d like to enter, just click here and good luck: GIVEAWAY!

That’s it, thanks for reading! Also, thanks to Jenny for being here today and to Chapter by Chapter for my spot on this tour ❤

assinatura

chapter by chapter

2 thoughts on “BLOG TOUR: In the Shadow of the Dragon King, by J. Keller Ford

  1. Thank you for having me. I really enjoyed the interview, and what a crowd!! I brought you some virtual strawberry creme filled chocolates sprinkled with almond ‘dust’ (and a little magic, too) as a thank you. I hope you enjoy. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

