Asleep, from Krystal Wade

Hi, there! Welcome to my review for a book that I had been waiting months to read 😀 I’m talking about Asleep, from Krystal Wade, of course! This book has been all over Bookstagram and Goodreads since February and that’s how long I was pinning for it. I received my review copy from Xpresso Book Tours in exchange for an honest review. Thank you, the time arrived!

asleep
from my Instagram 🙂

summary

“To cure fear, you must use fear.”

Rose Briar claims no responsibility for the act that led to her imprisonment in an asylum. She wants to escape, until terrifying nightmares make her question her sanity and reach out to her doctor. He’s understanding and caring in ways her parents never have been, but as her walls tumble down and Rose admits fault, a fellow patient warns her to stop the medications. Phillip believes the doctor is evil and they’ll never make it out of the facility alive. Trusting him might be just the thing to save her. Or it might prove the asylum is exactly where she needs to be.

the analysis

Just remembering that those were my impressions and opinion as a reader 🙂

So, I think I expected too much from this book. As a kind of Sleeping Beauty retelling with an asylum and macabre themes involved, Asleep seemed to have it all to send me flying out of my seat with the chills. I’m so sad to announce that it didn’t live for the hype for me 😦 Don’t get me wrong, it was a cool enough book with a marvelous writing style and all, but it didn’t reach my heart. I don’t regret for a second to have read it, but Asleep ended up being just entertaining instead of mind blowing :/ Three stars!

The narrative style was third person from Rose’s point of view and it was one of the thumbs up on Asleep for me. I wasn’t Rose’s number one fan, but I wasn’t exactly on her head and that helped me to enjoy more the book 🙂 Also, I feel the mystery intensified once I couldn’t be sure if things were indeed happening or if Rose was starting to enter the asylum’s hype. Krystal’s writing also is something fascinating, I’ll for sure keep my eyes open to grab another book from her in the future 🙂

james franco harry osborn spider man wink

The plot was complex and well executed, but it didn’t really hold my attention. It wasn’t the book at all, it was me. I wasn’t interested enough :/ I liked the way Wade wraps things up in the end and there were definitely some arching-brow-twists, so I can’t complain.

Actually, I can’t quite complain of many things but the slightly déjà vu sensation (thanks to Slumber) and my personal lack of interest :/ Seriously, Asleep is a great book. Maybe I wasn’t in the mood for this kind of read, ugh.

im-the-worst1

The characters were developed enough, but I found Rose a bit of a stuck up bore in the beginning. She grows up and gets better, but the journey can be tiring for the reader, haha! To make up for it, there is Phillip, a guy highly interesting in the middle of the chaos. I just think that their relationship could have stayed platonic while in the asylum… But just my opinion, haha!

Overall, if you enjoy macabre stories, retellings, amazing writing and beautiful covers, you should consider grabbing Asleep 🙂

3star

goodreads icon

Thanks so much for reading my review! Also, thanks again to Xpresso Book Tours for my copy ❤

assinatura

xpresso book tours

2 thoughts on “Asleep, from Krystal Wade

Leave a Reply

