Kisses on a Paper Airplane, from Sarah Vance Tompkins

Kisses on a Paper Airplane tour banner

Hello, there! Welcome to another lovely book review, haha! I’ve been victimized by a cold on this past week and Kisses on a Paper Airplane, from Sarah Vance Tompkins, was one of the books that kept me company on those boring days slacking around in my bed or my couch. A fun and cute quick read, it was just what I needed to get out of my slight reading slump 🙂 I’ve received my review copy from YA Bound Book Tours in exchange for an honest review. Thanks so much and the time has arrived!

kisses on a paper airplane

the story

Theo Callahan is a teen pop star that is really trying to stay away from romance after what happened with his former girlfriend, supermodel Olivia. But a random meeting with a girl at London’s airport starts to change things for him. For the first time in years Theo was just T, the geeky awkward boy, not Theo the hot star. Theo liked that and hoped he could get away with his scheme just long enough to know more about the sweet girl that hated flying.

Hannah Evans is one of those girls that idealized her first kiss in the minimal details… A long time ago. At eighteen, she still hasn’t seen any kind of boy action and kept plotting and dreaming about Prince Charming, ignoring the jokes of her best friend Julia on the matter. And her idea of a first kiss certainly didn’t involve an airport, a cute ginger haired boy and lots of jet lag at all. No matter how hot and adorable T was, Hannah had more urgent matters to think about, like her mom’s sudden wedding that she’d be attending to, meeting her future stepfather and her audition results at Drama school.

Hannah and T didn’t even know each other for Hannah to feel so many “feels” for him… But what if he was exactly the right one? That one? Hannah swore she’d have her first kiss as she expected it and if she would have to wait a thousand years, then so be it. But what if the time had arrived before the expected?

the analysis

Just remembering that those were my impressions and opinion as a reader 🙂

This book was lovely and cute. I was happy to see that Sarah didn’t wasted pages to make the story happen and, at the same time, managed to create something so special. I can’t say that this book is a piece of art by any means, as it is firmly YA and not in the best of senses, but it served me right in the moment and warmed my heart. Despite having some problems with it, I still think that Kisses on a Paper Airplane deserves my rating of five stars 🙂

The narrative was first person with switching points of view between Hannah and Theo. I was less than impressed with Hannah, but she could have been worse and she grows a lot during the book – another awesome achievement on Tompkins’ part, as the book’s adventure last only a couple of days. I’d be more skeptical if I hadn’t already experienced for myself what a single chance meeting can do for our consciousness, haha!

The plot was simple and well executed. There isn’t any depth to Kisses on a Paper Airplane happenings, as it is all casual and everyday life, but it managed to be touching by keeping it simple. Tompkins writing style helped this case a lot, as she writes in a fluid and simple way that makes the reader fly through her words, needing to know how Hannah and Theo’s encounter shall unfold for both parties. The only thing that made me roll my eyes a little in this regarding was the excessive use of market brands. Like Nars make up, a Nike tennis and so on. It’s nice to include a dear brand here and there, but it got old fast :/ On the other hand, I liked the playlist that you can hunt through these pages, haha! I took notes of all the songs mentioned and will spend some time at Youtube and Spotfy to meet the ones I don’t know 🙂

The characters were my biggest issue, especially Hannah. When the book started, I would cut my right arm, swearing that Hannah was 15 or 16 thanks to her behavior patterns and nonsense. I almost fell off my couch to read she was actually 18 and in college =O I really think we had a several case of delusion here regarding ages. The same happened with Theo, but in the other way around. I’m almost sure he’s in his 20’s and he acted like a dude that’s reaching 30 and wants to settle. Seriously, nothing wrong with wanting lasting relationships, but let’s all just calm down, right? Haha.

For what I liked: their connection was instant, but it wasn’t intalove. Hannah was attracted by Theo – he is a pretty boy, we can’t blame her – and Theo thinks Hannah interesting and attractive. They start bounding at the airport and not at once in this mess I felt they were in love and that was awesome, haha! I’m so tired of love at first sight and instalove in YA that I actually wanted to high-five Tompkins for the touch and careful wording, haha!

i request the high fives

Overall, I think this was a nice romance – not perfect by any means, as I still don’t know why there is a “paper” on the book title, for example – but it was exactly what I seemed to need. If you like contemporary, YA, cute and quick reads, you should give this book a go 🙂

5star

goodreads icon

Thanks so much for reading my review! Bellow you can find info on where to find Kisses on a Paper Airplane, about the author and a lovely giveaway 🙂

purchase links

You can find Kisses on a Paper Airplane on paperback (?) and ebook formats 🙂

AmazonKobo

the author

sarah vance tompkins

Sarah Vance-Tompkins was born in a small town in northern Michigan. She spent every summer exploring the sugar sand beaches near Sleeping Bear National Park. She left her heart behind when she moved to Los Angeles to attend the University of Southern California. She received an MFA in Film Production and went on to work in feature film development in Hollywood. She has worked as a reporter for a weekly entertainment trade publication, and been paid to write obituaries, press releases, the directions for use on personal lubricant bottles, and breathless descriptions of engagement rings for an online jewelry store. She lives in a small town north of Los Angeles with her husband and three cats.

WebsiteGoodreadsTwitterFacebookInstagramPinterestG+TumblrAmazon

giveaway

One lucky winner will take home a $25 Amazon gift card!

To enter, just click here and good luck: GIVEAWAY!

That’s it, thanks for reading the full post 🙂 Also, a huge thanks to YA Bound Book Tours for my review copy and my spot on this tour!

assinatura

YA Bounk Tour Button

4 thoughts on “Kisses on a Paper Airplane, from Sarah Vance Tompkins

Leave a Reply

