The Luthier’s Apprentice, from Mayra Calvani (Violinist Detective Series #1)

Hi, there! I’m so sorry I wasn’t around in the weekend, I got sick 😦 I feel better now and came back with many reviews! I don’t know if I’ll be able to post them all today, but I’ll definitely try, haha! The first one was for The Luthier’s Apprentice, first book in the Violinist Detective series, from Mayra Calvani! I got my copy from Lola’s Blog Tours in exchange for an honest review. Thank you, guys! The time has arrived 🙂

the luthiers apprentice
from my Instagram 🙂

summary

Niccolò Paganini (1782-1840), one of the greatest violinists who ever lived and rumored to have made a pact with the devil, has somehow transferred unique powers to another…

When violinists around the world mysteriously vanish, 16-year-old Emma Braun takes notice. But when her beloved violin teacher disappears… Emma takes charge. With Sherlock Holmes fanatic, not to mention gorgeous Corey Fletcher, Emma discovers a parallel world ruled by an ex-violinist turned evil sorceress who wants to rule the music world on her own terms.

But why are only men violinists captured and not women? What is the connection between Emma’s family, the sorceress, and the infamous Niccolò Paganini?

Emma must unravel the mystery in order to save her teacher from the fatal destiny that awaits him.

And undo the curse that torments her family—before evil wins and she becomes the next luthier’s apprentice…

the analysis

Just remembering that those were my impressions and opinion as a reader 🙂

This book was so promising and seemed so different that I couldn’t wait to start reading. Sadly, I was left with only promises. The Luthier’s Apprentice wasn’t able to hold my attention and was too obvious in every small detail. I didn’t care for the characters, the plot and not even the wonders of the violin making present in the story were able to keep me focused. Also, I couldn’t handle well the instalove and overpower presents on the book. However, as the characters didn’t annoy me and the pieces about the art of making a violin were indeed interesting when I could pay attention, I decided it is a three stars book 🙂

damon salvatore thinking funny face

The narrative style was third person with switching points of view between the characters. As much as this is my favorite type, in The Luthier’s Apprentice’s case, I think less points of view would have helped to keep the mystery unsolved for a longer time in the reader’s mind. When I reached 40% of the book (according to my Kindle App), I already got the whole story figured out in the minimal details. It was so boring! Especially considering that the theme of the book was so nice and different. Calvani’s writing style wasn’t my cup of tea either. I felt the story wouldn’t flow, that she was too concern with every small detail and forgot to move on with the plot. Besides, at many times I felt the writing to be a little rough or mechanic 😦

The plot was meant to be complex, but it was executed in a way that everything got too simple – especially if you, like me, are a veteran in both YA and Mystery. I’m glad to announce that you won’t find many clichés at this book, but I confess that the one I clearly identify bothered me: instalove.

i literally cannot even i can't even i am unable to even i have lost my ability to even i am so unable to even.gif

I simply don’t understand why girls and boys rarely can pull off a friendship in books without it falling into romance. It’s so highly unfair! =O On The Luthier’s Apprentice, as it is the start of a series, there was lots of room for friendship turned into something more with, guess what? TIME!

anna kendrick boom

Anyway, characters. Despite the good background and development, I couldn’t bring myself to care for anyone. Not the not-so-plain protagonist Emma, not for the quick-and-funny Annika, not for the oh-so-handsome Corey. And when you don’t care about what’s happening with the characters… Well, that is such a bad sign! It explains why it took me four whole days to finish a less than 200 pages book. Well, it happens. I simply wasn’t the right YA audience that this book intended to charm, haha!

Nevertheless, I must insist that I loved that the book was set in Brussels and the learning experience about violins and musicians was worthwhile.

Overall, if you like traditional YA books – read this in any way you’d like to – with a handsome Sherlock Holmes’ fan, a cozy mystery to keep your mind busy and a fantasy world hidden on an attic, you probably should give The Luthier’s Apprentice a go 🙂

3star

goodreads icon

Thanks so much for reading my review! Also, thanks once again to Lola’s Blog Tours for my copy, it was an overall interesting experience 🙂

assinatura

lolas blog tour host

One thought on “The Luthier’s Apprentice, from Mayra Calvani (Violinist Detective Series #1)

Leave a Reply

