BLOG TOUR: The Paladins, by Julie Reece (The Artisans #2)

PaladinsTour.png

Hello, there! Welcome to a very special blog tour, hosted by Chapter by Chapter 😀 Today’s star is The Paladins, second book in The Artisans series, by Julie Reece!

The Paladins Cover

The Paladins

The Artisans #2

by Julie Reece

 Publication Date:  May 3rd, 2016

 Publisher:  Month9Books

summary

The Artisan curse is broken. Souls trapped in a mysterious otherworld called The Void are finally released. Now, Raven Weathersby, Gideon Maddox, and Cole Wynter can finally move on with their lives…or so they thought. If the ancient magic is truly dead, then why are mystical fires plaguing Gideon at every turn? What accounts for Raven’s frightening visions of her dead mother? And who is the beautiful, tortured girl haunting Cole’s dreams?

Last year, a group of lonely teens sacrificed secrets, battled the supernatural, and faced their own demons to set one another free. Yet six months later, the heart of evil still beats within The Void. And the trio is forced to face the horrific truth: that their only way out is to go back in.

The Paladins completes this eerie YA Southern Gothic where loyalties are tested, love is challenged, and evil seeks them on the ultimate battlegrounds—in their minds, their souls, and their hearts.

goodreads iconpurchase links

You can find The Paladins in both paperback and ebook formats 😀

Google Play | BAM | Chapters | Indies | Amazon | B&N | Kobo | TBD | iBooks

also in the series

The Artisans.png

They say death can be beautiful. But after the death of her mother, seventeen-year-old Raven Weathersby gives up her dream of becoming a fashion designer, barely surviving life in the South Carolina lowlands.

To make ends meet, Raven works after school as a seamstress creating stunning works of fashion that often rival the great names of the day.

Instead of making things easier on the high school senior, her stepdad’s drinking leads to a run in with the highly reclusive heir to the Maddox family fortune, Gideon Maddox.

But Raven’s stepdad’s drying out and in no condition to attend the meeting with Maddox. So Raven volunteers to take his place and offers to repay the debt in order to keep the only father she’s ever known out of jail, or worse.

Gideon Maddox agrees, outlining an outrageous demand: Raven must live in his home for a year while she designs for Maddox Industries’ clothing line, signing over her creative rights.

Her handsome young captor is arrogant and infuriating to the nth degree, and Raven can’t imagine working for him, let alone sharing the same space for more than five minutes.

But nothing is ever as it seems. Is Gideon Maddox the monster the world believes him to be? And can he stand to let the young seamstress see him as he really is?

goodreads icon

Google Play | BAM | Chapters | Indies | Amazon | B&N | Kobo | TBD | iBooks

be our guest post

And guess what? If you thought that Julie Reece herself decided to stop by the blog and say hello, YOU ARE CORRECT!! *–*

applause

I asked Julie to tell us 5 curious facts about The Artisans series and its writing process and she was kind enough to indulge me, haha! Thanks so much for being here today, Julie! It’s a huge pleasure ❤ I’ll leave the post in your capable hands for now!

Hey! I’m so happy to be here today. Thank you for having me! And can I just say that Annelise Lestange is such a cool name, I may steal it for my next book. Kidding-not-kidding. Lol

My host asked if I would list five curiosities about the series and/or the writing process for it. I’ll do my best! Ready? Okay, here goes.

 Five curiosities about THE ARTISANS/PALADINS series …

  1) When people ask me about The Paladins (The Artisans 2), I say it’s a YA Gothic fantasy romance. Because it is. It’s also cheating because that’s not all it is. I don’t know why it’s gotten so hard for me to explain my own darn book for crying out loud! Lately, when someone asks what my book is about. I say, “Picture Alice in Wonderland and Labyrinth having a book baby. Then imagine if that book baby grows up and marries The Walking Dead and they have a book baby together and you’re pretty close.”

 2) In the series, the heroine (Raven) has a cat. He’s a big black Maine Coon named Edgar Allen Poe. In my home, there are three Maine Coons: Earnest Hemingway (Hemi), Harper Lee and Victor Hugo (Huggie). They are brothers, and combined inspiration for the cat character in my book.

 3)  I’m a scaredy-cat. I grew up on mother goose, Grim fairy tales (not the nice cleaned up tales, mind you, but the original gruesome, filled-with-death tellings) and southern-gothic ghost stories. I can’t take straight-up horror. It keeps me awake with the light on and praying that, if God will save me, I’ll never read something that scary again. Weirdly, I do like a little bit of suspense and mystery and creep-factor. Just not too much. And that factors heavily in my new book.

 4) Initially my publisher wanted to make this series a trilogy. I chickened out and asked for a duology instead because I was (overly) worried about having enough content for three really good books. Have you ever read a trilogy where the first and third were awesome, but the middle book felt thin or weak or simply not as good? Yeah. Me too. I didn’t want that for my series. Since then, I have ideas to keep going with these characters. Of course I do. But back then, I wasn’t sure. Better safe than sorry, right? : )

 5) I wanted to be an artist when I was younger. Not a fashion designer like Raven, but a fine artist. I know what it’s like to yearn for something. To dream big and try. However, I’m also familiar with failure. When my drawing skills turned out to be only mediocre, and I funneled that creativity into writing and redecorating people’s homes instead. It’s funny where “failure” may lead you, and to find out that your definition of failure isn’t what you thought it was at all. Because it’s all learning, and sometimes a first direction veers off-road into a place you never dreamed you’d go. And, like my hero Gideon eventually finds out, it might be even better if you have the guts to try again with something new.

 Thanks again for having me here and for asking such fun and thought provoking questions. I had a great time, and I really hope you enjoy the story! XOXO

OMG, Julie! I totally did! *–* And you totally can have an Annelise Lestrange on your next book as long as she’s badass in some way and that I can have an ARC of the book ASAP, haha! ;D I seriously saw unicorns and rainbows reading your facts, it is too much love in one single person ❤ Can I hug you, please? AND I PROMISE I’LL GET THE ARTISANS SERIES AS SOON AS I GO OUT OF BOOK BUYING BAN!!! *—*

Thanks again for agreeing to be with us today, darling!! XOXOXO

the author

Julie Reece

Born in Ohio, I lived next to my grandfather’s horse farm until the fourth grade. Summers were about riding, fishing and make-believe, while winter brought sledding and ice-skating on frozen ponds. Most of life was magical, but not all.

I struggled with multiple learning disabilities, did not excel in school. I spent much of my time looking out windows and daydreaming. In the fourth grade (with the help of one very nice teacher) I fought dyslexia for my right to read, like a prince fights a dragon in order to free the princess locked in a tower, and I won.

Afterwards, I read like a fiend. I invented stories where I could be the princess… or a gifted heroine from another world who kicked bad guy butt to win the heart of a charismatic hero. Who wouldn’t want to be a part of that? Later, I moved to Florida where I continued to fantasize about superpowers and monsters, fabricating stories (my mother called it lying) and sharing them with my friends.

Then I thought I’d write one down…

Hooked, I’ve been writing ever since. I write historical, contemporary, urban fantasy, adventure, and young adult romances. I love strong heroines, sweeping tales of mystery and epic adventure… which must include a really hot guy. My writing is proof you can work hard to overcome any obstacle. Don’t give up. I say, if you write, write on!

Website | Twitter | Facebook | Pinterest |Tumbr | Instagram | Goodreads

giveaway

Five INTERNATIONAL lucky winners will take home each a digital copy of The Paladins (The Artisans #2), by Julie Reece!

To enter, just click on this link and good luck: GIVEAWAY!

That’s it, thanks so much for reading! Also, a huge thank you to Julie for the great guest post and to Chapter by Chapter for my spot on this tour ❤

assinatura

chapter by chapter

One thought on “BLOG TOUR: The Paladins, by Julie Reece (The Artisans #2)

Leave a Reply

