The Fall and Rise of Peter Stoller, from M. Pepper Langlinais

the fall and rise of peter stoller book tour banner.jpg

Hello, there! I’d like to start this post by apologizing for being missing today until so late. Very important political decisions were being made at my country and I couldn’t bring myself to focus on anything other than the senate television channel. Brazil’s president is going through an impeachment process and such affair is of deepest interest for everyone over here, no matter the people’s position on it 🙂

Now that this is clarified, I’d like to talk about today’s book: The Fall and Rise of Peter Stoller, from M. Pepper Langlinais! I’ve received my review copy from Reading Addiction Virtual Book Tours in exchange for an honest review and the moment arrived!

the fall and rise of peter stoller.JPG
from my Instagram 🙂

the story

(Goodreads’ blurb)

In 1960’s London, British Intelligence agent Peter Stoller is next in line to run the Agency—until he falls in love with cab driver, Charles, and his life goes off the road. When Charles is accused of treason, Peter is guilty by association. Peter manages to extract them both, but the seeds of doubt have been planted, putting Peter’s mind and heart at war. Is ignorance truly bliss or merely deadly?

the analysis

Just remembering that those were my impressions and opinion as a reader 🙂

I was really excited about this book. It may come as a big shock for my friends and followers of the blog *sarcasm*, but I love gay romance and seeing one with a spy/mystery catch took my breath away! It was disappointing to see that, despite the mystery being really nice, the book wasn’t all that awesome. I couldn’t connect with the characters, the romance felt very shallow and weak and there were several times in which I felt the story dragging. Still, a pleasant enough read that surprised me with its outcome 🙂 Three stars!

The narrative was third person styled from Peter’s point of view. That should have made me happy, as it’s my favorite style, but I couldn’t connect with Peter. He was very observant and noticed the little things, but I feel that I still don’t know him after the entire book 😦 Also, the writing style also didn’t jump to my eyes…

alicia silverstone cher clueless sad thinking face

The plot was probably the strongest point in the book, with twists and turns and all. To this moment, I don’t know what to think of Charles. This feeling of distrusting characters and being left in doubt is priceless! Also, I haven’t seen the end coming, haha! What a blast!

tumblr_m4hmomZWJj1rok1mk

I prefer not to talk about the characters this time. I don’t have anything good to say and I don’t want to bad mouth a LGBT book – they are too scarce for that and it’s not because I didn’t get along with it as I would have liked that it won’t be the perfect book for someone else. So all I will say is that I felt that the characters were a bit shallow and that I didn’t connect with them.

tumblr_m0nd5cyOzx1qdx814

The only thing that I have to point out is that I missed more romance on the book, given all the thoughts in Peter’s head towards Charles. I know Romance is not a label in the editor’s description of the book but it’s not because it’s a mystery that you can’t have affection scenes on it too.

Without further ado, if you like a good mystery, vintage Europe, adventure and a blasting end, you should read The Fall and Rise of Peter Stoller 🙂

3star

goodreads icon

Thanks for reading my review! Bellow, you can see where to find The Fall and Rise of Peter Stoller and read more about the author 😀

purchase links

You can find The Fall and Rise of Peter Stoller in ebook format only 🙂

Amazon | Barnes & Noble | iBooks | Kobo | Smashwords

the author

m pepper langlinais.jpg

Pepper Langlinais is best known for her Sherlock Holmes stories. She is also a produced playwright and screenwriter. She lives in Livermore, California.

 Website | Facebook | Twitter

That’s it, thanks for reading! And thanks to Reading Addiction Virtual Book Tours once again for my review copy and for my spot on this book tour 😀

assinatura

reading addiction button

3 thoughts on “The Fall and Rise of Peter Stoller, from M. Pepper Langlinais

    • It was my pleasure!! I enjoyed the reading 😀 As a gay books lover, it’s my duty to always show people how cool and awesome they are ❤ Thank you for bringing another lovely title for our bookish board of awesome gay books!! *–*

      Like

Leave a Reply

