Beneath the Surface, from M. A. Church

Beneath the Surface Banner 851 x 315.png

Good morning! Look who is up and shinning so early today, haha! This posts concerns a very special book review, part of the Beneath the Surface blog tour hosted by Bewitching Book Tours ❤ If you’ve been here for a while, you know I’m crazy about gay romances – if you haven’t, well… SURPRISE! Haha ;D Anyway, Beneath The Surface, from M. A. Church, is our star of the moment and you will soon find out why!

Also, I’ve received my review copy from Bewitching Book Tours in exchange for an honest review 🙂

beneath the surface.JPG
from my Instagram 😀

the story

(Goodreads’ blurb)

A whole different world exists beneath the surface.

The last thing Nisha expects while patrolling his territory is to find his mate, but his instincts tell him the handsome human diving into the surf is the one meant for him. Two bites and Kannon will be joined to him forever. But when Kannon’s father disrupts the mating process, Nisha releases his claim, hoping beyond hope his mate will one day return.

While free diving with his father, Kannon is bitten by a seductive merman. Although he swore to never go near the ocean again, the pull to return to the water and his mystery man remains strong. Finally, after fifteen years away, an impromptu wedding brings Kannon back to the Seychelles, and his destiny.

Kannon only plans to stay on the island for a week, but this time Nisha won’t let his mate go without a fight. Merfolk and human culture collide as the embers of Nisha and Kannon’s mate bond ignite, and Nisha must complete the mating before it’s too late.

the analysis

Just remembering that those were my impressions and opinion as a reader 🙂

Beneath the Surface was my first gay romance involving mermaids and my third overall book involving mermaids in life. I’m fascinated about mermaids – or merfolk, as in this case I’m talking about both girls and boys with tails – so it felt like Church just got some glue and united the best of both worlds for me. I even joked with an offline friend that if the book was set in the 19th century and Kannon was a vampire, this book would have reached the ultimatum perfection for me, haha! As it is, Beneath the Surface is already a pleasant enough read 😉

you get the best of both worlds

Despite my high satisfaction upon ending the book, I must warn you that there are some flaws on it. Some loose ends in the plot, the writing style could become a little rough sometimes, this kind of stuff. And, as I said once before, my reviews are fair and analytical – my rating is totally personal. The book suited me, suited my tastes and was exactly what I was pinning for, so I happily gave it five stars 🙂

The narrative style was my favorite: third person with switching points of view between the main couple, Kannon and Nisha. I laughed had with Kannon, as he was new to the merfolk world just as the reader is – at least, how I am, haha! Three mermaid books in life is hardly a number that can turn me into an expert, right? 🙂 Nisha’s parts were cool because we could understand his reasoning and motives better, but he’s the mainstream tall, dark, handsome and sexy type of guy. He engaged on Kannon’s humor, but rarely started it himself.

The plot was simple and straightforward, with Kannon and Nisha having to work their relationship to a level that is agreeable for both of them. What I really liked about Beneath the Surface is that there is no instalove, not even with the mating deal. Nisha for sure cares about Kannon to the point of stalking and Kannon worries about Nisha, but in not a single moment they say they are in love. In fact, Kannon express that he doesn’t love Nisha yet, but the bound that he feels with the merman for sure can’t be ignored and would easily grow into more over the time. I loved it ❤

feelings crowley supernatural

Now, let’s talk for a moment about things that weren’t that good in Beneath the Surface. I wasn’t impressed with the characters overall, I think they were pretty superficial. I know the book is short – practically a novella – but it is possible to construct deep and awesome characters with even less pages than this. Just ask Ava March. I was a little sad to see that there wasn’t anything else beneath the character’s surface (you see what I did there? Haha). Also, there were small loose ends that bothered me a little and some events that sound kind of an excuse for Kannon and Nisha to have sex. Don’t get me wrong, Church can pull off a sex scene like a pro, but the knitting of them with the plot sometimes had me wondering. And, the last problematic point was the writing style. Sometimes, it was fluid, interesting and seat grabbing. Other times, it dragged and turned rough, like I was reading a play rather than a book 😦 Oh, and I won’t even mention all the problems with the cover art.

that i can't even talk about devil wears prada emily blunt.gif

Okay, going back to the good vibes: the characters! Unfortunately no one in Beneath the Surface made it to My Bookish Boyfriends list, but I still had a great time with Kannon. He was so funny and optimistic all the time! You know, all the time that he hasn’t scared to death, haha! I wasn’t impressed with Nisha – cool and quiet guys that act as dominant aren’t really my thing. I usually go with funny, relaxed and dorky. But one thing I can say: Nisha is beautiful and no one can deny him that, haha!

he's really really hot

One thing that really stands out on the book is how Church pictures the merfolk. I know I haven’t a lot of experience in the area, but Nisha’s lectures one of the best parts of the book! I loved to learn more about how merfolk function and the details on Nisha’s transformation were breathtaking!

Overall, Beneath the Surface is no deep and complex book by any means, but if you enjoy gay romances, mermaids and quick reads, you totally should give this one a go!

5star

goodreads icon

Thanks so much for reading my review! Bellow you can find information about where to find Beneath the Surface, the author and a lovely giveaway 😀

purchase links

You can find Beneath the Surface in ebook format only 🙂

ARe  |  Amazon |   iTunes  |  Kobo

 the author

M.A. Church is a true Southern belle who spent many years in the elementary education sector. Now she spends her days lost in fantasy worlds, arguing with hardheaded aliens on far-off planets, herding her numerous shifters, or trying to tempt her country boys away from their fishing poles. It’s a full time job, but hey, someone’s gotta do it!

When not writing, she’s exploring the latest M/M novel to hit the market, watching her beloved Steelers, or sitting glued to HGTV. That’s if she’s not on the back porch tending to the demanding wildlife around the pond in the backyard. The ducks are very outspoken. She’s married to her high school sweetheart, and they have two children. She was a finalist in the Rainbow awards for 2013.

For more information on other books by M.A., visit her official website.

Website | Goodreads | Twitter | Facebook

 giveaway

To join me on this chance, just click here and good luck: GIVEAWAY!

That’s it, thanks so much for reading the whole post! And thanks to Bewitching Book Tours for sending me my review copy and selecting me for the tour 😀

assinatura

bewitching book tours host

2 thoughts on “Beneath the Surface, from M. A. Church

Leave a Reply

