Wilder, from G. K. DeRosa (The Guardian #1)

Hi, there! Welcome to a very late review, but life seems to be crazy this past few weeks, ugh! Right now, I’ll be reviewing the first volume of The Guardian series, by G. K. DeRosa: Wilder! I received my ebook copy from Chapter by Chapter in preparation for the Wilder Revelation Book Tour and in exchange for an honest review. Thank you again, guys! Let’s do this 🙂

wilder.JPG
from my Instagram

The Story

(Goodreads Blurb)

All that Celeste Wilder ever wanted was to find someone who would sweep her off her feet like she had seen in countless romantic movies. When she meets the gorgeous and mysterious Constantin brothers her senior year of high school, she gets much more than what she had bargained for. As they introduce her to an exciting supernatural world that she never imagined existed, she makes a startling discovery about her own family legacy and is forced to make a decision that will change her life forever.

The Analysis

Just remembering that those were my impressions and opinion as a reader 🙂

It was a true blessing that I was participating on the third volume’s book tour. If I had received only Wilder, I probably would drop the series and never think of it again, as I didn’t really hit it off with this book. I even joked with my friends that they could name a paranormal/young adult cliché and you would find it on this book. And I’m sadly right, sorry G. K.! I liked Celeste a lot as a protagonist, I think she was a very well constructed character, as were the boys Nico and Roman. I enjoyed the narrative style and the writing wasn’t so bad. BUT OH THE CLICHÉS! I rolled my eyes so many times during my reads that they were hurting on the next day. All stars were lost due this problem and only two survived 😦

The narrative style was my favorite: third person with switching points of view between several characters, but mostly from Celeste and Roman’s pov. Sometimes the writing style struck me as a bit rough, but it was a fluid book and I managed to finish it pretty quickly. Celeste has a bad ass story to tell and lives on a very singular world 🙂

The plot was good and had some twists that left me with my mouth open, but I was denied the pleasure of this appreciation over the clichés. It is really frustrating to read a book with so much potential and stumbled on something like this…

this makes me want to weep and then die

The characters were the strong point in the series. Celeste is a nice protagonist and managed to not irritate me, which is kind of a big deal, haha! Also, the boys had a beautiful brotherly relationship that I miss seeing in YA books. Usually, the family relationships in YA are dysfunctional or weird or simply non-existent (like when the character is orphan and has no family at all). It was a breath of fresh air to see the love that Nico and Roman have for each other!

miley smiling

And can we please take a moment to appreciate this wonderful cover? I’m in love ❤

Overall, Wilder is a necessary evil in a very nice series. You have to know how it all starts to enjoy the future happiness that the second and third volume brings. If you don’t mind the clichés and are in for a very cool paranormal ya series, take a deep breath and dive in Wilder!

2star

Thank you for reading and thanks to Chapter by Chapter for the review copy 🙂 Also, I’d like to say that is not my intention to offend anyone in my reviews, so I apologize if my words sounded harsh – I totally didn’t mean it! 😦

assinatura

chapter by chapter

This review was a preparation for…

RevelationTour

3 thoughts on “Wilder, from G. K. DeRosa (The Guardian #1)

Leave a Reply

