The Requiem Red, from Brynn Chapman

Hello, there! Welcome to my last post of the day, I swear, haha! As I mentioned earlier, I was lucky enough to receive from Month9Books a review copy of The Requiem Red, from Brynn Chapman, in exchange for an honest review. Thanks again to Month9Books, the moment is here!

the requiem red.JPG
from my Instagram

The Story

(Goodreads blurb)

Patient Twenty-nine.

A monster roams the halls of Soothing Hills Asylum. Three girls dead. 29 is endowed with the curse…or gift of perception. She hears messages in music, sees lyrics in paintings. And the corn. A lifetime asylum resident, the orchestral corn music is the only constant in her life.

Mason, a new, kind orderly, sees 29 as a woman, not a lunatic. And as his belief in her grows, so does her self- confidence. That perhaps she might escape, might see the outside world.

But the monster has other plans. The missing girls share one common thread…each was twenty-nine’s cell mate.

Will she be next?

The Analysis

Just remembering that those were my impressions and opinion as a reader 🙂

I was really pinning to read this book, as it promised me everything that I usually love in a book: asylums, historical romance, fearless females, mystery and a touch of paranormal to all of it. I can’t complain, I received it all, but the package was… Disappointing. On chapter three, I already knew what was going on and what the big mystery was. Also, the writing style proved to be not quite my cup of tea, too rough and sudden, making the story slow for me. I still had a good time, but The Requiem Red had so much potential and gave little back… Therefore, I’ll rate it three stars 🙂

The narrative style was first person with switching points of view. Almost all main characters get a chance to narrate the story and I like that, as I always knew exactly what was happening. Unfortunately, I didn’t manage to connect with anyone on the book, so once again I didn’t care what happened to them 😦 They were well built enough and both Jules and Jane are strong females, I can’t complain.

As to the plot, as I said, it had a lot of wasted potential. I didn’t really like how things went and the author’s writing style wasn’t very fluid, so the story dragged a lot to me. As I mentioned, I figured everything out too quickly and, while this usually doesn’t bother me, today I could foresee even the how it was going to be done. That was were I became totally detached from the book 😦

im-the-worst1

The characters were an interesting bunch. I really liked Jules and Jane, just like their romantic pairs – that shall remain unnamed as none made it to my list and due spoilers. The girls do pretty kick ass stuff during The Requiem Red and I really like how they grow up, but… Yeah, no feelings on my part, for good or bad.

The strongest point on this story is the historical accuracy that Chapman shows at the asylum. I’ve always been a hard fan of deadly and awful deeds of the humanity and the asylum fever is one of my favorite topics, along the medieval torture methods, witch hunts and abandoned places with terrible histories. So I was in a conflicted state of mind between pity and fascination every time the “treatments” and everyday life were portrayed on The Requiem Red. Also, the paranormal element was very nice too ❤

am i weird yeah but so what everybodys weird boys talking.gif
I’m weird, yeah.

Overall, if you enjoy historical romances with asylum settings, I highly recommend you to give The Requiem Red a try. But do not expect an elaborate romance, because the risk of disappointment is high.

3star

Thanks so much for reading my review and thanks again to Month9Books for the review copy!

assinatura

One thought on “The Requiem Red, from Brynn Chapman

Leave a Reply

