Wilder Revelation, from G. K. DeRosa (The Guardian #3)

RevelationTour.png

Hello, good day to you! I’m back with a review ~finally~ and promise that I’ll get myself back on the tracks, as many others are piled up, just waiting to be written. Sometimes I read way faster than I review, oops!

Anyway, today’s book is the third in The Guardian series, by G. K. DeRosa: Wilder Revelation! Also, this review is part of the Wilder Revelation blog tour, hosted by Chapter by Chapter. Thanks to their team for providing me with review copies for all the series! (My reviews for books one and two are late, so I’ll update this post as I have them, okay? :D) And without further ado, let’s go!

wilder revelation.JPG

The Story

(Goodreads blurb)

Fulfilling her destiny and becoming the Guardian has meant a world of sacrifices for Celeste Wilder, but her most difficult challenge is yet to come. The supernatural forces at play are far more powerful than she ever expected, and she will have to trust her instincts if she hopes to survive. Lilliana Constantin is back from the dead. Alek is free and somehow stronger than ever. A pack of rogue werewolves are wreaking havoc in her small town. And on top of all of this, Celeste faces what is at best an uncertain future with the love of her life.

While battling the forces of evil and saving the human world alongside Stellan and the handsome Constantin brothers has become second nature, Celeste had no idea what accepting her duty as the Guardian would actually cost her. When she faces an unspeakable tragedy, she is pushed to her breaking point. After fighting her most formidable enemies, Celeste is about to discover that sometimes the greatest evil is the one that comes from within.

The Analysis

Just remembering that those were my impressions and opinion as a reader 🙂

I started this series with the wrong foot. The first book made me roll my eyes so much that they hurt like hell when I was finished. I was so tempted to run away and put and end to my own misery, but then I felt guilty. It wouldn’t be fair to just drop the series like that. I’m so glad I persisted! The second book was much better and kept me hooked in a way that I finished it and jumped right at Wilder Revelation. Whereas I still had a strong problem with all the clichés that were involved in this series in general, I take my hat off to DeRosa. She managed to keep me pinned to my iPad like my life depended on knowing how Celeste, Roman, Nico, Brian and Stellan would get out of the mess that is Celeste’s life since she became a Guardian. I also enjoyed the cliffhanger at the end, that kept me satisfied for reading the series and wondering when the next one goes out, haha! Overall, it’s a pleasant read and I regret nothing. It would have been a four stars book if a certain character that I loved wasn’t dead now, but as she is, I took off a star and this leaves us with a nice three stars book 🙂

The narrative was third person styled with switching point of views, maintaining the pattern of the previous books. We see things mostly from Celeste’s POV, but everyone has a moment, making the story really well tied. DeRosa’s writing also evolved a lot through the books and is way more smoother on this volume, which made me smile ❤ I bet she’ll reach perfection on the next book in the series, haha! (You have to write another with an ending like this, please!)

I'm waiting.gif

The plot was complex and full of twists – some predictable, some not. My real problem with this series is the amount of clichés that DeRosa managed to include. Honestly, think about a paranormal/young adult cliché. You can find it on The Guardian series. I even made a list to Jess, from Mud and Stars, on our Twitter chat, (and now she wants to read the series too, haha!) because it bordered the humorous side – and I’m pretty sure that wasn’t the author’s intention from the book’s tone.

awkward silence.gif

The characters were nice enough, excluding cliché aspects. I liked Celeste as a protagonist, she didn’t bothered me at all (a very huge accomplishment for a female YA protagonist) and didn’t do overly stupid things or had deep and unnecessary identity crisis. Most of the time, she was strong and knew exactly what she wanted for herself – but I should let Roman tell you better about this aspect, haha!

And talking about Roman, I loved his relationship with Nico, his younger brother. I believe they have the most health and affective relationship between vampire brothers that I have ever read – I mean, they don’t even bleed themselves in a fight!

beyonce speechless.gif

I’m not saying that I don’t love problematic relationships between vampire brothers, but I couldn’t be more glad with Roman and Nico. Thanks so much for giving me them, DeRosa! ❤ Nico even made it to My Bookish Boyfriends list, haha!

tumblr_m4hmomZWJj1rok1mk

I won’t comment on the other character or the villains due to spoilers, but know this: they are all clichés of some sort and you will love each one of them.

A strong aspect of the book is how DeRosa mixes all paranormal elements into one world. I really liked how she portrayed all creatures and natures ❤ And the covers on this series are too gorgeous, haha!

Overall, if you enjoy the paranormal world, don’t mind a cliché or two or all of them, like hot brothers that have a lovely and non-destructive relationship and a series in which anything can happen, you really should pick up The Guardian series 😀

3star

Thanks for reading! Bellow, I’ll leave the buying links for each volume of The Guardian series and information about the author and the tour giveaway 🙂

PURCHASE LINKS

All books are available in both paperback and digital formats at Amazon and are free to read on Kindle Unlimited 😀

Wilder (The Guardian Series #1):

Amazon

Wilder Destiny (The Guardian Series #2):

Amazon

Wilder Revelation (The Guardian Series #3):

Amazon

 ABOUT G. K. DeRosa

G.K. DeRosa

G.K. De Rosa has been an avid reader from a very young age. In fact, before she could even read, she tried fooling everyone into thinking that she could. At the precocious age of two, while living in Italy, she had memorized an entire children’s book in Italian and expertly turned the pages at the exact right moments of the story. As she grew up, she always enjoyed literature, no doubt having been instilled with a love of story telling from her early years in Catholic school where she was greatly influenced by exemplary teachers who taught her the value of English and Literature. Though she did not pursue writing in college and instead went for the more traditional route of International Business inspired by her love for travel and all things foreign, after a move to New York City, she found her creative writing side calling once again. She began writing a restaurant review blog, City Lights and Tasty Bites, detailing her other passion – food! The hectic hustle and bustle of the city, combined with long commuting times gave her the opportunity to spend more time reading and rekindled a lost love. After reading countless books in many diverse genres over the two years in New York City, and returning to her home state of Florida, she felt compelled to write something for herself. She had always felt particularly drawn to Young Adult novels and having been an eternal romantic at heart, a fantasy romance was a natural choice. She currently lives in South Florida with her real life Prince Charming and their fur baby, Nico the German Shepherd.

Website | Twitter | Facebook | Goodreads

GIVEAWAY

  • One lucky winner will receive a paperback copy of each of the books in the series (Wilder, Wilder Destiny, and Wilder Revelation) + a $25 Amazon gift card! (INTERNATIONAL)

To join me on this lovely opportunity, just click here: GIVEAWAY!

That’s it, thanks so much for reading! And thanks again to Chapter by Chapter for the opportunity of meeting and reviewing this series!

 assinatura

chapter by chapter

5 thoughts on “Wilder Revelation, from G. K. DeRosa (The Guardian #3)

    • It is nice, thank you! I hope it is a huge success as well, as I need to see what happens in the next volume, haha!

      Like

Leave a Reply

