Love Me, Love Me Not, from Alyxandra Harvey

LoveMeLoveMeNotTour.png

Hello, book friends! Welcome to my stop on the Love Me, Love Me Not Book Tour! It’s review time and the book in question is very special. Love Me, Love Me Not, from Alyxandra Harvey, is a fairy tale retelling of the 12 swans story, one of my childhood favorites! As it is, I’d like to thank our host, Chapter by Chapter, for selecting me and sending me the ebook copy of Love Me, Love Me Not in exchange for an honest review! 😀

LoveMeLoveMeNot Cover.png

The Story

Ana is just your regular small town girl, struggling with school papers, family feuds and to get the attention of her dream boy Edward. Of course that everything would be so much easier without her swan heritage, family weird traditions and blood feud, that kept her and all the Vilas on their toes, and if she only could carry an intelligent conversation (you know, on human level) with Edward. And if she could be certain that she would properly fall in love and grow her wings, instead of ending up like one of her crazy aunts.

Thank Goddess her best friend, Pierce, was always there to hold her ground.

Pierce, in the other hand, has been head over hills with Ana for a while now, but the girl was incredibly dense. Pierce knew how much pressure she had, but he also had problems of his own. You know, just a delinquent thief brother, a nazi grandma and tight money 24/7. Even being only human, life can be cruel to you.

If only Pierce could make Ana see that they already got each other’s grounds.

anigif_enhanced-buzz-5351-1389581734-11

The Analysis

Just remembering that those were my impressions and opinion as a reader 🙂

I really loved this book! I mean, there wasn’t much that could go wrong with so many elements that I love on a young adult story: magic, fairy tale retelling, geek drop-dead-guys and a good mystery. I loved Ana as a protagonist and deeply admire her for her acts; despite everything that she was taught, she was a pacifist. And had Pierce, which definitely makes her the most lucky girl in the world, haha! I read this book in a single seating because I couldn’t stand the thought of leaving it before its end. My only problem with it was the writing style, but we will get there. My rate for it was four stars ❤

The narrative is first person styled, with switching point of views between Ana and Pierce and I’m surprised to say that I loved both narrators equally – I usually prefer guys on first narratives. I may have to change my views on first person narratives, as lately I seem to have found several books with high quality narrators, haha! What didn’t really struck me was Harvey’s writing style: it wasn’t all fluid and graceful. I felt like the book was a car: on most moments, it worked just fine, but out of nowhere, there were halts on the storyline and I had to make sure that I hadn’t skipped a page by accident or something like that. There weren’t divisions for the time passages, you know? Other than that, I have no complains on the narrative or writing style, haha!

The plot was simple, with a touch of mystery, but very well executed. I already saw what was coming for the Vilas and Renards as soon as the weird stuff began and it was pretty obvious who did it all, but I wasn’t bothered by it. As it happens with my sugared romances, what I really like is to see the reasons, motives and details on how things are going to work out, haha! But if you are a pinner for surprises in plots, you’ll be slightly disappointed with Love Me, Love Me Not. (And that’s pretty much the second out of two reasons, as this book is very good! In case you didn’t catch it, the first one is the writing style, haha!)

I really loved Harvey’s characters, all of them! Come on, Liv was supposed to be a huge bitch and she was, but I couldn’t help myself: I had so much fun on her scenes, haha! Everyone was so well-built that took my breath away. Besides my surprise for linking Ana so much (I’m usually not a good girl’s fan), I also could see how Vila and Renards could be real. Even with the blood feud going on, they all were just like you and me. How to not relate?

Besides, Pierce was the perfect guy. One more bookish boyfriend for my list ❤ Seriously, I improperly squealed on so many occasions that I’m ashamed of myself, haha! I wish I could meet someone like him…

Which brings us back to Ana and why I identified myself so highly with her. I’m also very scared to never fall in love, to be alone and become insane. Harvey shows us in the book that what outside people say doesn’t matter; we have to see and feel secure for ourselves. And this is so hard, sounds so… Impossible. I was pinning for Pierce, of course, but I was glad to see that Ana’s feelings were gradual and real, not some weird insta love. Bonus points to Harvey for making me feel better, haha!

Overall, this book is a must read if you like fairy tale retellings, magic, strong females, funny punch lines and hot males ❤ I’ll definitely keep my eyes open for other Harvey works, as she clearly is a brute diamond!

4star

Thank you for reading 😀 And, once again, thanks to Chapter by Chapter for this chance, I loved Love Me, Love Me Not

And we are not done yet! Along with the blog tour, there is an awesome giveaway! Here’s what you can win 😀

  • $200 Amazon Gift Card + Feather Pendant Necklace inspired by the one that Ana, from Love Me, Love Me Not wears
feather necklace giveaway
this one!

To enter, just click here: GIVEAWAY!

Here you can learn more about Alyxandra Harvey:

alyxandra-harvey

Alyxandra Harvey lives in a stone Victorian house in Ontario, Canada with a few resident ghosts who are allowed to stay as long as they keep company manners. She loves medieval dresses, used to be able to recite all of The Lady of Shalott by Tennyson, and has been accused, more than once, of being born in the wrong century. She believes this to be mostly true except for the fact that she really likes running water, women’s rights, and ice cream. Aside from the ghosts, she also lives with her husband and their dogs. She likes cinnamon lattes, tattoos and books.

Connect with the author:  Website Twitter | Tumblr | Goodreads

You can find the book in paperback and ebook versions at our usual book buying places, here:

assinatura

chapter by chapter

One thought on “Love Me, Love Me Not, from Alyxandra Harvey

Leave a Reply

