NEW BOOKS ALERT + GIVEAWAY: two more novels from Derek Murphy are finding their way out of the oven!

Hello, good morning! Nice Friday to you o/ (Okay, that was kind of silly. Friday is naturally a nice day just because it is Friday. Ugh).

Point is, do you remember how deeply in love I fell for Shearwater? (No? Then click on the link and read my review ;D ) Well, Derek Murphy is now releasing two other books on March 1st, in the same way that it went with Shearwater. AND I CAN’T WAIT!

The books are called The Scarlet Thread and Orpheum 😀

The Scarlet Thread

scarlethread.jpg

Summary

My name Kaidance Monroe, and sometimes when I touch people, I see how they die. After I saw my little brother’s death but failed to stop it, my parents abandoned me to a juvenile detention facility. I don’t let people touch me anymore. Not my fingertips, not my skin, not my heart. I make my own clothes by stitching together the donations we get; usually a bunch of crap that fits like a parachute. My sweater is a patchwork of different shades of inky, dark squares. I make plain gray skirts that hang to my knees, with cute or funny T-shirts sewed in. They clash ironically with my unsmiling face. My Allstar high-tops are black and frayed, like my soul.

I also wear a chunk of brightly colored legos around my neck. My little brother was working on it the day he died. The day I failed to save him. It’s unfinished, so I’ll never know what it was meant to be. Most days, I just try to get by. But then I got a visit from a cute guy, who tricked me into giving up my secrets. He said I was special. That he needed me. For a while, I believed him. But once I found out what I could really do, I learned everybody wanted the power I possessed. The power to destroy deities. To kill gods. To end the world… or to save it. My heart is torn, and those I loved most betrayed me. I’m trying so hard to do what’s right, but nobody can tell me what that is anymore, and the moral boundaries I’d always let define my life have been shattered. Whose rules should I obey now? Or do I have to make my own?

The Scarlet Thread is a dark fantasy for fans of Greek mythology and Gothic romance. Fans of Fallen and Percy Jackson will be captivated by this mashup of fallen angels and forgotten gods.

To feel the aura of the story, you can read Derek’s first version on Wattpad, here. You can also pre-order it on Amazon and add it to Goodreads 😀

Orpheum

b879b2bd86-out.gif

Summary

I always knew music was powerful. Even though I rebelled against the marathon forced practice sessions that turned my adolescence into a prison camp, there were moments—even in the mechanical repetition of practice—where I stopped being a robot and felt a kind of transcendence, a connection to something deeper.

I wasn’t raised to be religious, but in those fleeting spaces, often between beats in the tempo, my body seemed to go on playing by itself, while my awareness shifted to something greater. Almost like I was outside my body, sitting in the audience, feeling the music wash over me like a pounding surf, telling me to relax.
To let go. To give in.

But that was before I learned what music really was, and that it was capable of more than just pretty feelings and a mystical connection to a transcendental Other. That it was a weapon, which could cause great pain and destruction; that it was deeper and older than humanity; and that there were forces in the world that wanted to reclaim it for themselves.

Orpheum is a young adult dark fantasy romance based on Eastern European history, the myths and literature of Orpheus and Pythagoras’ theory of Musica Universalis, or the music of the spheres.

To feel the aura of the story, you can read Derek’s first version on Wattpad, here. You can pre-order Orpheum at Amazon and add it to Goodreads as well 😀

And now the final blow: Derek also has a huge giveaway to support his lauches!

valentines.jpg

In Derek’s own words:

Valentine’s Day! If that’s not the perfect excuse for a Paranormal Romance giveaway, I don’t know what is. I thought I’d do something kind of fun and crazy, so I’m giving away a hand-made, fully custom corset (up to $400) from Versatile Corsets (an amazing, Portland Oregon business). My friend Janet is a “corset connoisseur” – she’ll help you shop. Winners will also get a big package of dark fantasy paranormal romance books I like. I chose them by their covers, rather than theme, but they’re all excellent reads.

There are lots of ways to earn entries, so do as many as you want to – also don’t forget to grab your special link in the “Share this Contest” field. You can share that on social media, with the images down below – you earn more entries every time someone signs up.

Wonderful, righ?! To enter the giveaway, just click here 😀

Seriously, this guy just rocks hard. I can’t wait to read more of his works!

Thanks for reading and I hope you are as excited as I am now!!

assinatura

One thought on “NEW BOOKS ALERT + GIVEAWAY: two more novels from Derek Murphy are finding their way out of the oven!

Leave a Reply

