Gifted Thief, from Helen Harper (Highland Magic #1)

Hello, there! Today’s book is a sweetheart of mine. I received my copy of Gifted Thief, from Helen Harper, through NetGalley and I’m very thankful for that, as it was one of the best books in my life. The best part is that there is a sequel on the way! ❤ ❤

IMG_8039
from my Instagram 😀

The Story

Integrity has to admit that she is not exactly the number one citizen on town. Since escaping the Sidhe domain when she was eleven, Integrity learned everything that a high class thief needs to know and she is the best on what she does.

The problem is that you can’t escape your past forever. Especially when it comes on the form of a beautiful and sexy man named Byron, that knows exactly what he wants from Integrity and worse: how to get it.

Now Integrity has a big decision on her hands: to bow to the wishes of the people that always have hated her and help them out or to leave the Sidhe to their own luck and watch their magic end millions of lives – and not just Sidhe lives.

anigif_enhanced-buzz-5351-1389581734-11

The Analysis

Just remembering that those were my impressions and opinion as a reader 🙂

Honestly, this book. I don’t recall the last time that I fell so hard for a female main character as I did for Integrity. She had me since page one and never once lost me – which is a very important accomplishment, as the book is narrated in first person by her and I usually have no patient at all with the protagonists. But I connected in such a level with her, it was just like if I had found a new best friend. I actually cried when the book ended because there would be no more Integrity waiting for me on my e-reader (and the end was perfect, just saying). I don’t know how I’m going to keep breathing until February, when the sequel is to be released. Helen Harper did a hell of a job here and think every human being on the planet should read this book. If I could, I would rate it a million stars

tumblr_m2b01sJkRx1qzvz1ao2_500.gif

The narrative pace was first person from Integrity’s point of view, which started as an annoyance. You know, on the first page of chapter one. Then, I fell in love with Integrity in a fashion that I simply can’t explain. She was so strong, but so human…. But I’ll get there, haha! It didn’t bother me at all that I didn’t know what as happening with the other characters during the book and this is new for me. I always want to know everything and that’s why I bitch over first narrative styles. Harper was so badass on her writing style that I was happy with Integrity and crawling for more, haha! Seriously, I don’t promise an impartial review this time, because I simply can’t measure perfection.

tumblr_mmnbif2lJd1r6kg9io1_500
with all due respect 🙂

The plot was wonderful. It seemed like it was simple, but there were so many twists and action that I never knew where I was standing with the people around Integrity – even with her friends. The way Integrity told us how things were was tons of fun. Harper inserted her reader on the story, making me feel like I was a voyeur to every scene, every dialogue. I’m in love.

For the sake of your sanity, I’ll first talk about the characters overall and then Integrity 🙂

tumblr_mk1p3bmUj41qmn01to1_r1_500.gif

Harper knew exactly what she was doing with her characters. They all are insanely well built and deep, even the ones that are not that important. You feel that they are emotionally human and real. Byron made his way into my bookish boyfriends list with his bad boy gone good way. To be honest, I still don’t know if he his all that good, but I shall have to wait until February to find out, haha! Jamie was a cutie, but not my kind of cutie. Taylor also was a hell of a man for raising Integrity as he did and I love him for that ❤ Also, there is Bob, the little genie in all his cuteness and mischief. This book has too many huggable characters ❤ There is also Lexi and Lily, the other nice girls. And Tipsy. O loved that this is the official nickname of this bitch, haha! I hated her, ugh.

Now, Integrity. Oh, Integrity. She was such a strong woman, sure of herself and of what she wanted… Even when she doubted herself, she was still in control of her emotions. Don’t get me wrong, she has her flaws. She does really bad jokes and has a bad timing in knowing when to shut up and stay low, but I am too enchanted to be bothered. Everything that she did seemed right, haha!

gifdinheiro_4

A really great point on this book (you know, besides all the other great things that I already said), is the semi-dystopian vibe. It’s the world that you know, but not quite. I loved the way Harper mixed magical races and what they could do in this book. Seriously, February won’t be here fast enough.

If you like strong main female characters, dystopian books, beautiful males, adventure and action with a touch of romance, just READ THIS BOOK.

5star

Thank you for indulging me until the end of this review, I love you ❤ You can find Gifted Thief both on ebook and paperback formats on Amazon.

assinatura

8 thoughts on “Gifted Thief, from Helen Harper (Highland Magic #1)

Leave a Reply

