Manga author: Yuu Watase

Hi, good morning! First of all I have to say that I’m very pleased with life, as I’m going home on Sunday ❤ I miss my dog and my books, despite all the fun I’m having at my uncle’s. Nothing like home, right? 🙂

Anyway, today’s post is from my Authors of my Heart ❤ section and it’s another manga author, as I got confused with my own posting schedule and did two book authors in a roll. Next week, its book author again and everything will fall back into place, haha!

The chosen one? Yuu Watase-sensei!

732829

I didn’t found a larger picture, I’m sorry D:

We met after Fushigi Yugi was published in Brazil. The series was published in 2002, but I believe that I only started to read it somewhere between 2003 and 2004, as I read my first manga in 2003. Regardless of the accuracy on my chronological history, it was love at first sight. Also, as you may recall from this post, Yuu Watase is the author of the manga series that originated my first anime in Japanese with subtitles: Ayashi no Ceres 😀

Without anymore gibber jabber, let’s go to the list:

19728531

Goodreads’ Blurb:

When best friends Miaka and Yui open the pages of an ancient Chinese book, they are transported into the Universe of the Four Gods, a parallel world to ancient China. Now, to escape schoolwork and family problems, Miaka flees to the parallel world, only to find a lot more danger and romance than she bargained for.

This manga has the perfect balance between romance, mystery, adventure, dystopian, drama and comedy, besides awesome characters and handsome villains. There is no way you won’t love it too!

IMG_6736
from my Instagram 😀

Goodreads blurb:

Aya and her twin brother Aki thought they were going to a celebration of their sixteenth birthday at their grandfather’s home, but the funeral-like atmosphere tips them off that something’s not right. Their “birthday present” turns out to be a mummified hand–the power of which forces an awakening within Aya, and painful wounds all over Aki’s body! Grandfather Mikage announces that Aki will be heir to the Mikage fortune, and Aya must die! But Aya has allies in the athletic cook and martial artist Yûhi, and the attractive, mysterious Tôya. But can even two handsome and resourceful guys save Aya when it’s her own power that’s out of control?

I already talked a lot about this series, so let’s just do a quick recap with the main message behind my compliments: if you like shoujo (a.k.a. romance) and drama, just read it!

856917

Shy high school student Riko Izawa aches for a boyfriend but guys just won’t look her way. Then one day she signs up for a three-day trial of a mysterious “lover figurine,” and the next thing she knows, a cute naked guy is delivered to her doorstep–and he wants to be her boyfriend!

Has Riko died and gone to heaven? The cute naked guy turns out to be smart, super nice, stylish and a gourmet chef. Plus, he looks like a million bucks…. Trouble is, that’s about what he’s going to cost Riko because she didn’t return him in time!

This series is so funny! It made me wish I was rich to have a boyfriend of my own built for me, literally, haha! Also, it awakens big reflections about society and human behavior, plus made me cry several times in the end, despite it being somewhat happy. Another good combination of shoujo, drama, comedy and a touch of sci-fi.

6801586
yup, the cover is on the vertical for some weird reason

In a mythical world where humans and gods co-exist, Arata has the unfortunate honor of being the successor to the matriarchal Hime Clan. This means he has to pretend to be a girl or face death if his true gender is discovered! On the day of his inauguration, an assassination plot forces him to flee—and he somehow winds up in modern-day Japan! Meanwhile, a boy named Arata Hinohara gets sucked into the first Arata’s world and finds himself dealing with people after his life!

This was my last series from her, I read it last year and only volume one – I’ve had it for quite a while sitting on my shelf, so I decided to give it a go and discover if I was going to continue the collection. For the record, I WILL! It was amazing! This one is a shonen (a.k.a. adventure/action) title, very different from what I had read from Watase-sensei so far. I loved the start, can’t wait to read more ❤

That’s it! Thanks for reading ❤ Now I have to figure out who shall be my next book author, haha!

assinatura

One thought on “Manga author: Yuu Watase

Leave a Reply

